CVSA members elect new leadership team for 2017-2018

GREENBELT, Md. — The Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance transitioned to its new leadership team for the 2017-2018 term during the CVSA Annual Conference and Exhibition in Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada.

The new leadership team is led by:

  •  Christopher Turner of the Kansas Highway Patrol – president
  •  Scott Carnegie of the Mississippi Highway Patrol — vice president
  •  John Samis of the Delaware State Police — secretary

Julius Debuschewitz of Yukon Highways and Public Works, CVSA’s immediate past president, will be unable to serve his term. Per the alliance’s bylaws, the board of directors shall be comprised of the three most recent past presidents able to serve.

As a result, previous past presidents Sgt. Tom Fuller of the New York State Police and Deputy Chief Mark Savage of the Colorado State Patrol have each agreed to serve one more term as past president.

Turner, the new CVSA president, has served in law enforcement for 20 years and manages the Kansas Highway Patrol’s Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program, motor carrier inspectors fixed/mobile weight enforcement and crash reconstruction teams.

He has served as chair of both the CVSA Election and Finance committees, vice chair of the Programs Initiatives Committee (now the Policy and Regulatory Affairs Committee) and vice chair of the Adjudicated Citations Ad Hoc Committee.

Turner has moderated several technology forums for CVSA and served as a region member of the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators’ Law Enforcement Standing Committee and the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s Performance Standards, Measurements and Benchmarks Working Group.

Carnegie, the new vice president, has been with the Mississippi Highway Patrol for 24 years and is currently the director of the Motor Carrier Division. He leads multiple aspects of Mississippi’s commercial motor vehicle enforcement and operations programs, which include commercial driver’s license, information technology, compliance investigations, safety audits, and outreach and enforcement operations.

He also served as the CVSA Region II vice president and is the current chair of the CVSA Finance Committee. Carnegie recently completed his term as chair of the CVSA Election Committee and served on an ad hoc committee on training-related issues and actively participated in strategic planning for the future of the alliance.

Samis, the new secretary, has been with the Delaware State Police for 24 years and is currently the Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program supervisor of its Commercial Motor Vehicle Unit. He served as the CVSA Region I vice president for two years and as president for the past two years.

Samis is the incoming chair of the CVSA Election Committee and has been a member of the Finance Committee for the past two years. He attended CVSA’s yearly leadership meetings in Washington, D.C., for the past four years and was an active participant in developing the alliance’s strategic plan.

Other CVSA leadership changes include:

  • Scott Dorrler of the New Jersey State Police is the Region I president.
  • Eric Bergquist of the Maine State Police is the Region I vice president.
  • John Broers of the South Dakota Highway Patrol is the Region III president.
  • John Hahn of the Colorado State Patrol is the Region III vice president.
  • Daniel Wyrick of the Wyoming Highway Patrol is the Region IV vice president.
  • Sean Mustatia of the Saskatchewan Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure is the Region V vice president.
  • Chris Nordloh of the Texas Department of Public Safety is the Size and Weight Committee Chair.

Share this post