Virginia Motorcoach Association honors industry leaders

Several industry leaders were honored when the Virginia Motorcoach Association (VMA) gathered in Florence, South Carolina, for a Joint Regional Meeting with the North Carolina Motorcoach Association and the Motorcoach Association of South Carolina.

During the gathering on Aug. 23-26, the following VMA leaders were honored:

Jason Quick, President of Quick’s Bus Company, received the President’s Award, from current VMA President Roddy Mitchell.

Jason Quick is presented with the President’s Award, by VMA President Roddy Mitchell.

When the VMA had to make the difficult decision during COVID-19 to release the organization’s lobbyist and executive director to reduce expenses, Quick stepped up. As then-VMA President, he took on the daily task of running the association for both roles and actively reached out to each operator to ensure they were doing all right. He also helped connect members with resources to keep everyone afloat. 

Jimmy Hall, President of Venture Tours, accepts a service award for his dedication on the VMA Board of Directors. (VMA)

UMA leader honored

Quick presented VMA’s 2022 Robert T. Mitchell Public Service Award to Ken Presley, United Motorcoach Association (UMA) Vice President, Legislative & Regulatory Affairs & Industry Relations/COO.

“Ken’s personal commitment of his time, support and unwavering dedication were long overdue to be recognized. We are grateful to have his support and insights,” Quick said. 

Sylvia Jackson, of AMBEST and DAVIS Oil Co., was awarded the 2022 VMA Associate of the Year. Jackson was nominated and selected by her VMA associate peers, who described her dependable involvement in the industry, especially when it comes to attending industry shows. 

Sylvia Jackson, of AMBEST DAVIS, received the VMA 2022 Associate of the Year. (VMA)

“Sylvia is always there. She has a love for the operators, and her love is apparent by the never-absent smile on her face. Known for her kindness, her dedication, and her knowledge of the fuel programs and the needs of our members, she was the obvious winner,” VMA said in a statement. 

Foresight during pandemic

Larry Williams, of LW Transportation, received the 2022 VMA Operator of the Year. Williams, who has been a part of the VMA for decades, was nominated and selected by his VMA operator peers. 

Larry Williams, President of LW Transportation, received the VMA 2022 Operator of the Year.

During COVID, his leadership and business savvy were demonstrated. Instead of hunkering down and just waiting out the pandemic, Williams had the foresight to open a CDL driving program to help offset the expected driver shortage once business picked back up. 

“Larry is a mentor to many in the VMA — making himself available anytime someone has a question, a business problem or just needs a recommendation for a resource,” VMA said in a statement. 

Nate Todd of Yadkin Tours received the NCMA and VMA Rising Star award. (VMA)

Rising Star, Golf Award

Nate Todd, of Yadkin Tours, was named the NCMA and VMA Rising Star, and Danielle Newton, of Newton Bus Service, was given the James M. Counselman Golf Award. 

Counselman was a leader in the association, committed to supporting and planning the annual golf outing at the VMA’s Joint Regional Meeting. He donated, planned and oversaw the event each year, ensuring that members had an opportunity to just enjoy each other’s company with a little friendly competition. 

Danielle Newton for received the Annual James M. Counselman Golf Award.

The award winner is selected and presented by VMA Presidential Appointee Tim O’Bryan, of the Service Insurance Agency, to the person demonstrating the spirit of the award’s namesake. 

“Danielle was not a golfer, jumped in to play anyway, and ended up beating her golfing husband,” a VMA statement said.


Share this post

One thought on “Virginia Motorcoach Association honors industry leaders